Treasury Department & Six Gulf States Impose Sanctions on Hezbollah

Link to Source
OAN Newsroom
UPDATED 6:30 AM PT — Thurs. May 17, 2018

The U.S. is working with its gulf partners to impose a third round of sanctions on Hezbollah since withdrawing from the Iran deal.

The Treasury Department announced Wednesday that it’s taking action against the Iran-backed group’s leadership.

The move freezes the accounts of Hezbollah’s top two officials — Sayyed Nasrallah and Naim Qassem.

FILE – In this March 3, 2016 photo, Shiite rebels, known as Houthis, hold a poster of Hezbollah leader Sheikh Hassan Nasrallah during a rally in support of Hezbollah, in Sanaa, Yemen. (AP Photo/Hani Mohammed, File)

Secretary Steven Mnuchin said there is no distinction between the group’s so-called “political wing” and its terror plotting faction.

Six countries, including Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar and the UAE joined the U.S. in imposing sanctions, calling Hezbollah a threat to regional stability.

Leave a Reply